Composition of the IQAC


The IQAC may be constituted in every institution under the chairmanship of the head of the institution with heads of important academic and administrative units and a few teachers and a few distinguished educationists/ representatives of the local committee. The composition of the IQAC may be as follows:

Chairperson: Head of the Institution
A few senior administrative officers
Three to eight teachers
One or two members from the Management
One/two nominees from local society
One of the teachers as the coordinator of the IQAC

The composition of the IQAC will depend on the size and complexity of the institution. It helps the colleges in planning and monitoring. IQAC also gives stakeholders or beneficiaries a cross-sectional participation in the institution's quality enhancement activities. The guidelines given here are only indicative and will help the institutions for quality sustenance activities. It is necessary for the members of the IQAC to shoulder the responsibilities of generating and promoting awareness in the institution and to devote time for working out the procedural details. While selecting these members several precautions need to be taken. A few of them are listed below:

It is advisable to choose from various backgrounds who have earned respect for integrity and excellence in their teaching and research. Moreover, they should be aware of the ground realities of the institutional environment. They should be known for their commitment to improving the quality of teaching and learning.
It would be appropriate to choose as (senior administrators) in charge of institutional services such as library, computer center, estate, student welfare, administration, academic tasks, examination, planning and development.
The management representatives should be persons who are aware of the institution's objectives, limitations and strengths and are committed to improvement. The local society representatives should be of high standing and should have made significant contributions to society, and, in particular, to education.
(Source: UGC and NAAC Documents)

According to the structured guidelines, CIHTS keeps updating its constitution of the IQAC from time to time. The present formation of IQAC cell is following-

Chairman Prof. Geshe Ngawang Samten    
Vice Chancellor, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi
Ph: 05422585242

Coordinator Dr. Anirban Dash    
Associate Professor, Sanskrit
Ph- 7666787051

Member Prof. D. D. Chaturvedi    
Professor, Sanskrit
Ph- 8853162480

Member Prof. Lobsang Tenzin    
Visiting Professor, Sowa-Rigpa
Ph- 9935667591

Member Prof. Jampa Samten    
Visiting Professor, Tibetan History
Ph- 9450180542

Member Prof. Mukul Raj Mehta    
Professor, B.H.U.
Ph- 7785012424

Member Prof. Lallan Mishra    
Professor, B.H.U.
Ph- 9621234132
Email :

Member Dr. Himanshu Pandey    
Deputy Registrar, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi
Ph- 9452235001

Member Dr. Dorjee Damdul    
Associate Professor, Sowa Rigpa
Ph- 9452822023

Member Dr. Beni Madhav    
Nominee from Local Society
Ph- 9838975270

Member Shri R.K. Mishra    
DO, Library, CIHTS
Ph- 9452073073

Member Dr. Guru Charan Singh Negi    
Alumini Representative
Ph- 9936253373

Member Dr. Jampa Chophel    
Assistant Professor, Jyotish
Ph- 9198191747

Member Mr. Nyima Tsering    
Research Scholar
Ph- 7880606549

Convener/ Member Secretary Dr. Mahesh Sharma    
Assistant Professor, English
Ph- 8107174341